Eight Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing Teams Compete This Weekend in Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen

928 × 619
Mercedes-AMG and Mercedes-AMG Team Riley Motorsports bring championship leads in the 2019 IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup to this weekend's IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Sahlen's Six Hours of The Glen, June 28 – 30. The six-hour race on the historic Watkins Glen International road course is the fourth IMSA WeatherTech Championship GT Daytona (GTD) race of the season and the third of four rounds in this year's IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup series.
Mercedes-AMG, Mercedes-AMG Team Riley and No. 33 Mercedes-AMG GT3 co- drivers Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga have across-the-board points leads in all three IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup GTD championships.
A series within the overall IMSA WeatherTech Championship, the IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup awards top performers in the year's four endurance races, which began with January's season-opening Rolex 24 At Daytona and March's 12 Hours of Sebring. Following those races, the No. 33 Mercedes-AMG GT3 team and Mercedes- AMG have three-point leads in the respective team, driver and manufacturer standings, 25 – 22, heading to The Glen.
Keating, Bleekemolen and the No. 33 team are the two-time and reigning GTD champions of the Michelin Endurance Cup, which awards points not only at the checkered flag, but also during various points or "segments" within each race. The Daytona and Sebring races accounted for seven of the season's 12 segments, and the No. 33 team finished first in three segments, and second in another to build their championship lead.
The shortest endurance race of the year, the Sahlen's Six Hours of The Glen has segments at the halfway mark and race finish. The year's final three segments are part of the 10-hour season-ending Petit Le Mans in October.
The Mercedes-AMG Team Riley Motorsports No. 33 Mercedes-AMG GT3 is one of eight Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Customer Racing teams competing this weekend at Watkins Glen.
Saturday's featured four-hour IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge race has seven Mercedes-AMG GT4 teams entered in the top-tier Grand Sport (GS) class. The race joins January's season-opening four-hour at Daytona as the two longest races of the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge season.
The top Mercedes-AMG GT4 in the two most recent races has been the No. 35 Riley Motorsports entry of Jim Cox and his 18-year-old co-driver Dylan Murry. The team finished fourth at Sebring in March and improved to second one race ago at Mid- Ohio.
The No. 35 team's pair of results are the best for a Mercedes-AMG GT4 this year in the highly competitive GS class, a trend that could continue at Watkins Glen with Bleekemolen named as a third driver in the Riley Motorsports entry.
Reigning GS class champions Owen Trinkler and Hugh Plumb are entered in the No. 46 TeamTGM Mercedes-AMG GT4, and compete alongside the sister entry of team owner/driver Ted Giovanis and Guy Cosmo in the No. 4 TeamTGM Mercedes-AMG GT4.
Winward Racing/HTP Motorsport is set for Watkins Glen with the team's usual dual entry of the No. 57 Mercedes-AMG GT4 piloted by co-drivers Bryce Ward and Christian Hohenadel, and the No. 33 Winward Racing/HTP Motorsport Mercedes- AMG GT4 with Russell Ward and Indy Dontje.
Murillo Racing is another two-car Mercedes-AMG GT4 IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge GS team. Longtime co-drivers Jeff Mosing and Eric Foss partner again in the Murillo Racing No. 56 Mercedes-AMG GT4, while Mosing's brother, Brent Mosing, shares the team's No. 65 Mercedes-AMG GT4 at The Glen with Tim Probert and Justin Piscitell.
Sunday, June 30, at 7 p.m. EDT, with live streaming of the race in its entirety on the NBC Sports App and NBCSports.com beginning at 9:30 a.m. EDT.
Friday's schedule at The Glen features practice for both series and IMSA Pilot Challenge GS qualifying at 1:25 p.m. EDT.
A third and final one-hour WeatherTech Championship practice Saturday at 8 a.m. sets the stage for GTD qualifying later that morning at 11:35 a.m. EDT. The four-hour Michelin Pilot Challenge race is scheduled to start Saturday at 1:55 p.m. EDT.
Categories: Mercedes-AMG
Tags: Racing
/* ddcalmirc 05922752 */